Click to Home
Go To Search
Police Department
Our mission is to enhance the quality of life by working cooperatively with the public and within the framework of the Constitution and all laws and ordinances to preserve peace and provide a safe environment equally, consistently, and professionally for all citizens of Fort Madison.

The officers, reserves, and support staff of the Fort Madison Police Department strive to provide police services that the community can depend on and be proud of.

About Us
The Fort Madison Police Department (FMPD) employs 18 full-time officers, four volunteer police reserves, and two secretaries. The FMPD has a long and rich heritage of service to the community, and we maintain a close working relationship with the Lee County Sheriff's Department, the Iowa State Patrol, and the Iowa State Penitentiary, located in Fort Madison.

Our fleet of traditional black and white police cars reflect our belief in the time-tested motto "To protect and serve." The officers, reserves, and civilian employees realize that our citizens deserve and expect a high degree of care and competency in all matters of police services.

Bruce Gustafson (A).jpg
Bruce Gustafson

Interim Police Chief
Ph: (319) 372-7700 x 280

Kathy Benda A.JPG 
Kathy Benda
Chief Clerk
Ph: (319) 372-7700 x 278
Nancy Estrada A..JPG
Nancy Arevalo
Data Entry Clerk
Ph: (319) 372-7700 x 279

Jamie Carle

Rob Hogan

Bruce Niggemeyer

Todd Shields

Fort Madison Police Dept.
811 Avenue E
Fort Madison, IA 52627
Ph: (319) 372-2525
Fax: (319) 372-7758

Emergency: 9-1-1